Search Unity

  1. Check out our Unite Austin 2017 YouTube playlist to catch up on what you missed. More videos coming soon.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Unity Gear Store is here to help you look great at your next meetup, user group or conference. With all new Unity apparel, stickers and more!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 2017.3 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice

Adding Mocap animation to Prefab (Zombie) dont working.

Discussion in 'Animation' started by ppizarro, Oct 5, 2017.

  1. ppizarro

    ppizarro

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Hi guys! first time here .

    I bought these two assets:
    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/48407
    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/79328


    and when trying to put the animations inside the prefab by mecanim (animator) the character is broken.
    • I have tried configuring the model to humanoid.
    • I've tried to set their bones still no results PS: try contacting the manufacturers but there is no answer yet ..
    I leave a picture when I click the play button of unity

    https://imgur.com/RyPmpMU

    Thanks!

    EDIT:

    I've tested animations from this asset and it worked fine:(
    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/5330
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 5, 2017
  2. theANMATOR2b

    theANMATOR2b

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    6,606
    Have you associated the character avatar with each zombie animation?
     
  3. ppizarro

    ppizarro

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for reply!

    I tried to do what you told me and I got this error, will the animations with 3d bodies really be compatible?

    *in the image you can see the animation that I want to use and I'm setting the avatar of my zombie
     

    Attached Files:

  4. theANMATOR2b

    theANMATOR2b

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    6,606
    Is this a 3D Max animation by chance? You can identify if it is by looking In the hierarchy and reading the bone names. Are they called. Is there a bone anywhere called bip01?
    Also check the hierarchy - how are the animation hierarchies different compared to the character? The difference in the hierarchies IS the problem causing the error.

    This error is known and usually caused by a bone hierarchy mis-match. The default biped rig set up in 3D Max has the legs parented to the bottom spine bone (for some stupid legacy reason) and the hierarchy in Unity and every other non-stupid default rig has the legs parented to the hips/root/bip bone.

    If this is the case - to fix, this model needs to be brought into 3D Max and have the biped rig structure changed to make the legs parented to the hips/root/bip rather than the bottom spine bone.
    Unfortunately this can not be fixed (to my knowledge) without a dot.Max file. Does the asset come with a .max file?
    There might be a way to change the parenting of the rig in the rig setup, but I do not know this process if it exists.

    Maybe by masking the hips in the original character avatar?
     
  5. ppizarro

    ppizarro

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Hey! thanks for the info!..

    Your information has been very helpful .. however I communicate with the creators of the asset and told me I just had to duplicate the animation, edit it as a humanoid and put the option "created for this model" below .. and it works. thanks for your time! a friendly greeting
     
    theANMATOR2b likes this.